Concealed Pistol License

Concealed Pistol License Information

The County Clerk's Office is responsible for the processing and distribution of concealed pistol licenses, following the review and determination of the Wayne County Gun Board.

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age, must be either a U.S. citizen or a resident alien, and must have resided in this state for at least six months. Applicants must meet certain criteria as to criminal history and mental illness. Applicants must provide proof of pistol training and safety programs from a certified firearms instructor, the pistol safety certificate must state, "This course complies with Section 5j of 1927 PA 372" and "the individual has successfully completed the course. The pistol safety certificate must also contain the printed name and signature of the instructor. Applicants must provide a valid driver's license or state I.D. showing residency in Wayne County. The address on the applicant's I.D. must match the address provided on the application.  

A state and federal fingerprint clearance is required. Fingerprints are to be taken at the County Clerk Offices:

(2 Woodward Ave., Room 207 Detroit, (313) 224-6262) or at the Sheriff's Department (3100 Henry Ruff Road, Westland, (734) 721-5125).
 
Please note that the applicant must file his or her application in person, with all required documentation, with the county clerk in the county in which he or she resides. The application shall be signed under oath by the applicant. The oath shall be administered by the county clerk or his or her representative.  

Please visit the Michigan State Police website for additional Information on Concealed Pistol Licenses and Firearms laws of Michigan.

Application Steps

DOWNTOWN DETROIT OFFICE

Coleman A. Young Municipal Center 
2 Woodward Avenue, Room 207
Detroit, MI 48226
  (313) 224-6262 
Mon., Tue., Wed., Fri.: 8 AM-4:30 PM
 
Thursdays. 8 AM - 7 PM
 
Cash, Money Orders & Credit Cards Only
NO VISA CREDIT

 

WESTERN WAYNE SATELLITE OFFICE

3100 Henry Ruff Road 
Westland, MI 48186
  (734) 326-4690 
Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 3 PM
 
Cash, Money Orders & Credit Cards Only 
NO VISA CREDIT

The CPL application fee is $105.00 | CPL Renewal fee is $105.00
Made payable to the Wayne County Clerk by money order, cashiers check, certified check,
cash or credit card (excluding Visa).
For your convenience, E-Photos are available for a $15.00 fee.   

 


Cathy M. Garrett
Wayne County Clerk
(313) 224-6262
Concealed Pistol License