Font Size:

Attorney Qualifications

Attorney Qualification for Managed Assigned Counsel Roster
Wayne County has four case-type qualifications for which counsel can apply to represent. Each of the case-types, sometimes referred to as "tiers", have minimum requirements an attorney must meet in order to be considered eligible for that tier, with higher requirements for case-types which have higher severity sentences possible.

Each year in October, our application to apply to be on our roster of managed assigned counsel opens for new and returning attorneys to submit their interest, tier selections, and supporting material for the following calendar year's roster. Please CONTACT US if you would like to be added to our email list to receive information about the application period, process changes, or be informed of pre-application period roundtables.

Other information, announcements, and a contact form can be found on our site at our Apply to our Attorney Roster page HERE.

Description of Case Types in Wayne County

Tier 1

Tier 1 cases are Murder and Manslaughter

Tier 2

Tier 2 cases are Criminal Sexual Conduct in the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd degree, or Child Abuse 1st and 2nd degree

Tier 3

Tier 3 are all other Capital Offenses not explicitly categorized in Tier 1 or 2, and Possession with the Intent to Deliver 450 - 1000 grams of a Schedule 1 or 2 substance

Tier 4

Tier 4 cases are non-Capital offenses

How Do I Qualify to be on the Roster?

Qualifying for our roster for any tier requires a blend of meeting minimum time spent practicing criminal law, completing a minimum threshold of CLE, and either a minimum amount of experience serving as trial counsel OR the ability to demonstrate equivalent experience and similar skills, often demonstrated through writing samples.

For a full overview of the qualification requirements for our program, please review the following document in its entirety.

Master Qualification of Attorney