Message Title

Detailed message content can be added here!

Wayne County Commission Youth Council

Wayne County Commissioners in 2020 unanimously supported a resolution by Commissioner Monique Baker McCormick to create the Wayne County Commission Youth Council, which is dedicated to promoting youth education, community involvement and civic interaction.Its goal is to bring together youth from varied socioeconomic backgrounds and multicultural neighborhoods to assist in planning, developing and implementing activities and services that help young people become socially responsible community members.

Logo created by Morgan Porter


The authority meets quarterly. Dates, times and agendas are posted below. Meetings are recorded and available on the Wayne County Commisson's YouTube channel. Meeting videos and minutes are also posted below.

Thursday, Jan. 28
6:00 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 25
6:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 25
6:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 22
6:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 27
6:00 p.m.


The Youth Council, formed at the beginning of the 2020-21 school year, has named its inaugural set of executive board members. They are: Gabrielle Langston, president; Ajeya Rahaman, vice president; Keerthana Danasekaran, secretary; and Dierra Surles, parliamentarian. Langston and Danasekaran are appointees of Commissioner Terry Marecki. Rahaman is an appointee of Commissioner Irma Clark-Coleman and Surles is an appointee of the late Commissioner Jewel Ware.Non-executive board members include: Jayvonne Simmons (12th), Kendall Spivey (11th), Jaden Walton (11th), Cordell Clyburn (11th), Morgan Porter (11th), LaKendra Reynolds-Smith (11th), Taylin Hodges (12th), Alexa Saleh (11th) and Jana Akkawi (11th).

Gabrielle Langston, president

Ajeya Rahaman, vice president

Keerthana Danasekaran, secretary

Dierra Surles, parliamentarian

Jayvonne Simmons

Kendall Spivey

Jaden Walton

Morgan Porter

LaKendra Reynolds-Smith

Taylin Hodges

Alexa Saleh

Jana Akkawi