Font Size:

The Wayne County Commission Thursday voted 14-0 to appoint Commissioner Irma Clark-Coleman (D-Detroit) to the Wayne County Airport Authority board of directors. The Authority, established under Public Act 90 of 2002, is responsible for the management and operation of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport and Willow Run Airport.

Clark-Coleman will serve the remaining three-plus years of a term originally held by former Wayne County Commissioner Kevin McNamara. McNamara lost out on his bid last year to become Wayne County's CEO and thus had to relinquish his seat on the Commission on Dec. 31.

Clark-Coleman is one of seven members on the board. Four members are appointed by the Wayne County executive, two by the governor and one by the Wayne County Commission. Terms range from two to eight years. Her term on the board -- which consists of fellow members Michael Jackson Sr., Nabih Ayad, Michael Garavaglia, Ronald Hall, Suzanne Hall and Reginald Turner -- will expire Oct. 1, 2018.

Clark-Coleman was first elected to the Wayne County Commission in November 2010 after serving eight years in the Michigan Senate's 3rd District. Prior to her service in the Senate, she served two terms in the Michigan House of Representatives for District 11.

Before going to Lansing, Clark-Coleman worked for Wayne County for 31 years, beginning in 1967 with the Road Commission, which oversaw operations of Metro Airport.

"I am humbled and honored by this appointment," she said. "I look forward to the opportunity of working alongside fellow board members and the Airport Authority staff members in the continued effort of improving our airports. By continuing to generate economic development, our entire county and region will benefit. I vowed to my fellow commissioners that I will make them proud for selecting me to serve on this prestigious board."