Wayne County Commissioners Al Haidous and Tim Killeen were unanimously appointed May 19 by their peers to the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments' General Assembly. Commissioner Martha G. Scott was appointed as an alternate.

Also appointed to the General Assembly were four of Wayne County's independently elected officials: Executive Warren C. Evans, Treasurer Eric Sabree, Clerk Cathy Garrett and Register of Deeds Bernard Youngblood. Commissioner Scott is Sabree's alternate.

SEMCOG, founded in 1968 and based in Detroit, is a regional planning partner with counties, cities, villages, townships, intermediate school districts and community colleges in seven counties: Wayne, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair and Washtenaw. Public universities can hold associate, nonvoting memberships. The General Assembly meets three times each year to provide input and take action on SEMCOG's major regional plans. Some General Assembly members serve on the Executive Committee, which meets seven times annually and conducts SEMCOG's main policy work.

More information about the organization is at

Commissioner Killeen, D-Detroit, replaces Commissioner Raymond Basham, D-Taylor, on the General Assembly. Commissioner Killeen represents the Commission's 1st District, which covers Grosse Pointe, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe Shores, Grosse Pointe Woods, Harper Woods and part of Detroit. He is in his fifth term and has been on the Commission since 2007.

Commissioner Haidous, D-Wayne, joined the Commission in 2015 and is in his first term representing the 11th District, which covers the cities of Belleville, Romulus and Wayne; Huron, Sumpter and Van Buren townships; and part of the city of Westland.

Commissioner Scott, D-Highland Park, is in her third term, joining the Commission in 2011. She served on the previous Wayne County Board of Commissioners from 1977-79. She represents the Commission's 3rd District, which covers Hamtramck, Highland Park and part of Detroit.